„…a perfect marriage of 70’s Canterbury and burning jazz-fusion, with complex time signatures, ripping keyboards and squonkin‘ sax lines… reeks of promise and delivers on many fronts“ – Sea of Tranquility

„The main thing that sets these guys apart is the intense and aggressive energy level…like a runaway train approaching that sharp curve, you just know it’s going to go over the edge, but somehow it stays on track“

– Expose

Great second release from this high-energy Japanese instrumental ensemble of soprano and tenor sax, keyboards (mostly electric piano and organ), bass and drums, with guests on guitar and percussion. Their 2003 debut blew the minds of those who were lucky enough to hear it, and this confident & powerful release will convert the rest!

This features combined monster grooves and head-crunching heaviness. You will hear traces of fusion bands like mid-period Soft Machine/Canterbury fusion, early Passport, Nucleus, Mushroom, The Mothers Of Invention, all filtered through Japanese over-driven rock ala Happy Family or Tatsuya Yoshida’s Koenjihyakkei or Keorekyojinn; they tear into these jazz/rock grooves with a great ferocity, which makes complete sense when you learn that the drummer/leader was the original drummer for Melt Banana, and was on their first two albums.

released January 25, 2005

Mahi -Mahi – soprano sax, tenor sax
Sudoh Toshiaki – drums, percussion
Suzuki Hioryuki – bass
Iwata Noriya – keyboards
Matsue Jun – guitar (1, 4, 5, 6)
Takahashi Yuko – percussion (1, 6)

1) Click this album link: https://cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/leap-second-neutral
2) Click „Buy Digital Album“
3) Type „10“ into the Name your price field (The discount comes next! 😉 ).
4) Type the word „FIVE“ into the Discount code field.
5) Click „apply“
6) Click „Check out now“ or „Add to Cart“

„Given the apparent youth of the bandmembers (judging from their promotional photo), their playing on this CD is amazingly mature and assured. Let’s hope they find a large enough audience to allow themselves further musical growth and prosperity.“

– Bill Tilland / AllMusic

Danke, das Du meinen Beitrag kommentieren möchtest

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.