Cuneiform: Pixel – Golden Years / Dieses Wochenende für FIVE

The award-winning Norwegian jazz quartet Pixel is in the vanguard of a scene brimming with exceptional young musicians, charting an exhilarating, improvisation-steeped jazz path infused with the cathartic energy of indie rock. Pixel’s third album Golden Years captures the next step in the band’s rapid evolution.

Pixel tends toward translucent textures, tight orchestration and pop-inflected songcraft. While the sound is essentially acoustic, Vemøy and Lassen increasingly employ subtle effects that provide deeper textural depth to the already charged mélange of bright harmonies and protean rhythmic thrust.

Golden Years is the result of Pixel’s bustling 2014, a year in which the quartet played nearly 100 gigs (while also each pursuing projects of their own). When they started the recording process at the end of the year, everyone brought new songs to the table, tunes documented over five intensive days in the studio. Together these extraordinary musicians created an expansive album and sound unlike any other band on the scene. Still growing and discovering what they’re capable of, the musicians of Pixel are in their prime, and the group’s third album makes a compelling case that these are the best of times on the Norwegian scene.

„Oslo, Norway-based modern creative jazz-pop quartet Pixel were founded in 2010 by bassist/singer Ellen Andrea Wang, who began playing the double bass at age 17 after first studying classical violin and piano. Trained at the Norwegian Academy of Music, Wang combines her confident bass playing with an appealing indie pop-flavored singing style in Pixel, a group also noteworthy for its instrumentation of bass, trumpet, saxophone, and drums — lacking a chordal instrument in a manner similar to the classic Ornette Coleman Quartet. The three other members of Pixel — trumpeter Jonas Kilmork Vernøy, tenor and soprano saxophonist Harald Lassen, and drummer Jon Audun Baar — also studied at the Norwegian Academy of Music, and have been involved in a number of jazz and rock projects.“


released October 16, 2015

Jon Audun Baar: drums, percussion, vocal
Jonas Kilmork Vemøy: trumpet, vocal
Harald Lassen: saxophone, vocal, bongo
Ellen Andrea Wang: double bass, vocal

Recorded and mixed at Propeller Music Division by Mike Hartung, Oslo, Norway (February 2015).
Recording Assistant: Jacob Dobewall
Mastering: Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering
Pattern artwork: William Branton
Album Design: Thor Johannes Wang
Band Photo: Lasse Fløde

1) Click this album link:
2) Click „Buy Digital Album“
3) Type „10“ into the Name your price field (The discount comes next! 😉 ).
4) Type the word „FIVE“ into the Discount code field.
5) Click „apply“
6) Click „Check out now“ or „Add to Cart“

Danke, das Du meinen Beitrag kommentieren möchtest

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: