Cuneiform: Guapo – Obscure Knowledge / Dieses Wochenende für FIVE

„Guapo take classic prog tropes and revivify them…brazenly and gloriously, it brandishes all the hallmarks of golden-era prog rock, but given a steroid boost and stripped of ego.“ – The Quietus  // „…continues the upward trajectory of development for the band…this is a killer of a progressive work…“ – DPRP

Obscure Knowledge was Cuneiform’s third release by (and the most recent one to date) the mighty Guapo.

Celebrating 20 years in the game, the much-admired instrumental, experimental rock band Guapo are celebrating by releasing ‘Obscure Knowledge’, their explosive new album and tenth release!

The group started their life as a heavy bass/drums duo playing post-hardcore, noisy rock, but in the two decades since, they have expanded their instrumentation and their stylistic references to become one of Europe’s most highly respected ‚muscular and modern‘ experimental/progressive rock bands.

Centered around founding member and extraordinary drummer David J. Smith, the group on the album also features three additional heavy-weights of British experimental rock:

Kavus Torabi-guitar (also of Knifeworld, Cardiacs, Gong)
Emmett Elvin-keyboards (also of Chrome Hoof, Knifeworld)
James Sedwards-bass (also of Thurston Moore Band, Chrome Hoof)

The album’s 43 minute long track is a dynamic, fluid beast that takes the listener on a scenic journey through loud New York minimalism, celestial drones, avant rock, kosmiche-noise, rockin‘ riffs and way beyond.

Smith, who is also a sculptor as well as drummer, looks after the aesthetic considerations of Guapo and is keen to provide a backstory for their albums. Smith explains: „The title of the piece of music and album is derived from the psychoactive rituals of various Native American people who are said to ‚tap into obscure knowledge‘ when performing certain rituals and rites of passage.“

released May 26, 2015

Guapo are:
Emmett Elvin – Fender Rhodes, Hammond organ, synths
James Sedwards – bass guitar
Kavus Torabi – guitar
David J. Smith – drum kit, percussion, keyboards & noises

Michael J. York – woodwind
Antti Uusimaki – additional keyboards & effects

Recorded at Orgone Studios, North London, June 5-7, 2014. Engineered by Antti Uusimaki.
Additional recording at The Elms, West Pennard by Michael J. York.
Mixed at Studio Klondyke, Kerava, Finland, October 2014 by Antti Uusimaki.
Produced by Antti Uusimaki & David J. Smith.

All compositions by Guapo.

1) Click this album link:
2) Click „Buy Digital Album“
3) Type „10“ into the Name your price field (The discount comes next! 😉 ).
4) Type the word „FIVE“ into the Discount code field.
5) Click „apply“
6) Click „Check out now“ or „Add to Cart“

Danke, das Du meinen Beitrag kommentieren möchtest

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: