Verity Sharp presents a mixtape by composer and lead guitarist of Radiohead, Jonny Greenwood. Elsewhere, we play poemes phonetiques, ultrasonic recordings of bats and Indian soul.

Jonny Greenwood is a musical polymath. The lead guitarist in Radiohead, he is also renowned as a composer in his own right; writing award-winning film scores, working as composer in residence for the BBC Concert Orchestra and collaborating with his hero Krzysztof Penderecki. Last year he launched his own classical music label, Octatonic and curated a BBC Prom. His Late Junction Mixtape is a 30-minute deep dive into his record collection, featuring Arabic classical music, dub from Dennis Bovell, a piece for violin by Edmund Finnis and sonic meditations by Pauline Oliveros.

Elsewhere Verity Sharp mops up the stray syllables of Raoul Hausmann’s poèmes phonétiques, we hear ultrasonic recordings of a rare bat subspecies reworked into music and a piece of sonic brutalism by collagists JESSOP&CO, a duo from Kolkata.

Produced by Alannah Chance.
A Reduced Listening production for BBC Radio 3.

Link zum Player


1 Tom Dissevelt & Kid Baltan – Vibration

2 Shye Ben-Tzur, Jonny Greenwood & Rajasthan Express – Roked

3 Rachael Dadd – Super Moon Machine

4 Raoul Hausmann – Poèmes sans titres + Oiseautal + Obada

5 Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela – We’ve Landed

6 Trondheim Jazz Orchestra, Kim Myhr & Jenny Hval – Even The Vowels

7 JESSOP&CO – Side A (extract)

8 Cenk Ergün – Sonare

9 Jonny Greenwood – Bode Radio / Glass Light / Broken Hearts

10 Blaqstarr – Shake It To The Ground (feat. Rye Rye)

11 Hoda Rohana – Habibi Baheb El Tesh

12 Edvard Grieg – Morning Mood (Peer Gynt Suites)

13 Pauline Oliveros – Horse Sings From Cloud

14 Hoda Rohana – Habibi Baheb El Tesh

15 Edvard Grieg – Ase’s Death (Peer Gynt Suites)

16 Blaqstarr – Shake It To The Ground (feat. Rye Rye)

17 Edmund Finnis – Elsewhere

18 Abdel Halim Hafez – AllaYali

19 Pauline Oliveros – Horse Sings From Cloud

20 Mahavishnu Orchestra & John McLaughlin – You Know You Know

21 Dennis Bovell – Electrocharge

22 Giorgio Dursi – The Song Of Hypothesis

23 Zarabatana – Pão pedra palmo de terra

24 Ivan ‚Mamão‘ Conti – Katmandu

25 Stuart Hyatt – Movement 5

26 Kelly Moran – Sodalis

27 Christian Lillinger’s Open Form For Society – Kfka

28 Anna Calvi – Away

29 Sarathy Korwar – Birthright (feat. Zia Ahmed, Mirande & Swadesi)

30 Andreas Dzialocha – V

31 Gwennie – Louisiana Swamp Recording

Danke, das Du meinen Beitrag kommentieren möchtest

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.