Verity Sharp presents a 30-minute mixtape compiled by legendary singer Diamanda Galás, who chooses an array of works from her favourite avant-garde composers.

After debuting with the San Diego Symphony Orchestra as a piano soloist at 14, in 1969, Galás became internationally recognised as a performance artist, composer, and vocalist of singular quality, exploring and experimenting within the traditions of Middle Eastern, Eastern European, and Western classical music, as well as the blues. An active collaborator, she has worked with composers Iannis Xenakis and John Zorn, music groups Erasure and Einstürzende Neubauten, and film directors Wes Craven and Francis Ford Coppola, among many others.

Also tonight, there’s a classic concert recording from another of the all-time great singers, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, plus exciting new music from psychedelic, electronic, free jazz duo Anteloper. And finally, hear an exclusive new work for BBC Radio 3 by cellist-vocalist Abel Selaocoe, commissioned from Opera North by the BBC Arts Culture in Quarantine project. They asked musicians to compose a piece for a walk at a particular time of day.

Produced by Jack Howson.
A Reduced Listening production for BBC Radio 3.


1 Papillon – Avant Paris (feat. Mike Cooper)

2 John Doyle – Teelin Harbour

3 Τάσος Στάμου – A Dance

4 Diamanda Galás – Hastayim Yasiyorum

5 Andy Kozar – Osculati Fourniture

6 Alejandro Palacios – Huyelesis

7 Jaime Genovart – Querandies

8 Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan – Shahbaaz Qalandar

9 Diamanda Galás – Vena Cava 3

10 Karlheinz Stockhausen – Oktophonie

11 Iannis Xenakis – Orient – Occident

12 Maryanne Amacher – Petra (1991) For Two Pianos

13 Charles Ives – Symphony No. 4: Prelude

14 Iannis Xenakis – Jonchaies (1977), Pour 109 Musiciens

15 Galina Ustvolskaya – Concerto For Piano, String Orchestra And Timpani

16 Iannis Xenakis – Pithoprakta

17 Henry Cowell – The Banshee

18 Karlheinz Stockhausen – Oktophonie

19 Maryanne Amacher – Living Sound, Patent Pending Music For Sound-Joined Rooms Series (Edit)

20 The Echoes & Celestials – I Love You Forever

21 Rafiki Jazz – Chitta Kukar

22 Samm Bennett – Oscillendulum 1

23 Alabaster dePlume – Black Drifts

24 Ai Aso – Itsumo

25 Abel Selaocoe – Ulibambe

26 KMRU – Why Are You Here

27 Anteloper – Radar Radio

Danke, das Du meinen Beitrag kommentieren möchtest

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.